So Much Love

Spotify

(I feel as though this post needs a photograph to break up all the text, but really, I got nothin’… so, sorry. Unless you want one of Snooki, which I’m priiitttyyy, pritty sure you don’t.)

Got one playlist for you this week – Sunday class last week was subbed out, taught this playlist tonight, subbing tomorrow night, and then next Sunday’s class is cancelled due to the Easter Bunny man.  Blah, Blah, Blah, Amanda. Tomorrow’s playlist will be a conglomerate of past songs, so you’re not missing out on too much.  This playlist is all club beats for the most part.  The Snooki in me came out while making this, but it’s a good way to make those legs go fast.

Had the best weekend in NYC, as usual, visiting some friends, and of course, took another SoulCycle class while I was there (and may have dragged a cute boy out of his bed to come with me – what a guy!).  This time, it was with Jenny Gaither at the Union Square location.  The studio was pretty similar in size and setup as the Upper West Side location that I checked out last time I was there.  Jenny is absolutely adorable – she’s a little firecracker, and she played some really, really fresh beats.  She also had an EXTREMELY hot man on her instructor bike, which happened to be directly in my view, so I was pretty pleased with the class.

I can mostly keep up with the crazy pushups and crunches that were going on in the class, but when they do double time pushups…. Shit is FAST.  I took my time for fear of smacking of my face into the handlebars.  I couldn’t make a fool out of myself in front of the hot man on the instructor bike!!!!! Similar to my last experience, I feel like I didn’t go super heavy with resistance, because of the pace they want you to keep to the beat and to ride “as a pack”, you’ll get yelled at it you aren’t spinning to the beat with everyone else.  Overall, another solid experience at Soul.

One last thing! Lots of shows coming up this month – checking out Gramatik and Break Science this Thursday, where I am going to make it my duty to become Gramatik’s girlfriend. I have been obsessed with him for so long now.  HERE’S MY CHANCE! Furthur (Phil Lesh and Bob Weir from the Grateful Dead) is playing Friday, and I am going to attempt to scalp a cheap ticket outside, because craigslist ain’t lookin’ so cheap right now.  Wish me luck. Go see live music! Support the artists – especially Gramatik, who gives away his music at no cost… speaking of, he just came out with a new EP today – called #digitalfreedom (you can download it through that link).  He is a huge advocate against SOPA and PIPA, and I just think he is the bees knees. Oh God, I said it – “bees knees”???. It’s time for bed…

Club spinmuse: 

1. Fedde Le Grand, So Much Love (Radio Edit) (2:46):  Asto, I think you gave me this song!? I love it. Maybe not. Either way, I miss you. Graduate law school and let’s be friends again.

2. Alexandra Stan, Mr. Saxo Beat (3:12): Pick up your speed right at 0:25 until 0:55, 1:44 – 2:15, and 2:39 until the end of the song, all on a flat road, getting warmed up in all positions.

3. Zooash, Dancing in Houston (Robyn v. Whitney) (4:00): Big thanks to my new friend Ryan for this one, who has been posting banger workout playlists on twitter.  This is Robyn’s “Dancing On My Own” (girl crush. I think she likes girls, maybe I have a chance?) for the backbeat, with Whitney’s “How Will I know” playing over it (RIP).  It works, like, really well.  We did “4 corner” jumps for this jam – 2 counts forward, 2 counts backwards for most of the song, with a 70% resistance, right to the beat of the song, adding here and there.  

4. Deadmau5, Some Chords (7:24): This song will forever pump me up anytime I hear it.  We have two long intervals for this song – 1:34 – 3:34 (2 minutes for those of you who aren’t good at math), and 5:02 – 6:34 (1.5 minutes.. you’re welcome).  These intervals we did in the saddle, with straight medium resistance, keeping a very quick pace up for a long time. Pretty burning and exhausting if you’re doing it correctly.

5. David Guetta ft. Sia, Titanium (4:05): A few more intervals here – since I know this song like the back of my hand, I didn’t write down the intervals, but sprint during the choruses.  There’s a few of them for about 20-30 seconds, turn up that resistance to about 75-80% for the intervals.  

6. Chromeo, Fancy Footwork (3:18): Jumps on our own here – heavy resistance, right to the beat.  

7. Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Heads Will Roll (A-Trak Remix) (6:25): Climb… two intervals, one at 2:28 – 2:58 (1×30) and 3:42 – 5:52 (1×130 seconds). SPENT!

8. Childish Gambino, Heartbeat (Treasure Fingers Remix) (3:28): Loving this remix (thank you, Aaron!) and will hopefully be seeing him at Sasquatch at The Gorge in Washington State this Memorial Day Weekend… Stay tuned for more on that… This guy, Donald Glover, is not only a pretty talented rapper but also a comedian, writer, and actor.  THAT’S COOL DONALD, JUST BE AWESOME AT EVERYTHING YOU DO. We kept the heavy resistance from the climb from the previous song, and then at 2:24 until the end of this song, we up’d the intensity for a heavy sprint.  For whatever reason, I can’t get a youtube link or full soundcloud track for this remix. However, it is on the Spotify cloud, so be sure to click my Spotify link to the playlist to hear it (but that version is a little longer.. I can’t win?)  

9. Dev, Dancing In The Dark (DJ Kue Remix) (6:52): DJ Kue is 2 for 2 with me – I love this remix, and the one of Dev’s “Kiss My Lips” which I’ve used a few times.  He uses heavy synth and basslines, and keeps it real with the vocals and the elements of the original song.  Perfect tune for 30 second sprint intervals – 1:00 – 1:30, 2:00 – 2:30, 2:48 – 3:18, 3:48 – 4:18, and 5:20 – 5:50.  A spin instructors dream song.  

10. Ellie Goulding, Starry Eyed (Russ Chimes Remix) (4:41): Still on an Ellie girl-crush, and I don’t see it going away anytime soon. Even if she is dating Skrillex. Can’t help who you fall in love with????? (Woof).  Stay at heavy resistance the whole song, switching between position 2 and 3.  

11. Ida Corr, Let Me Think About iT (Radio Edit) (2:37):  Tabata intervals, starting at 0:37 seconds for 2 minutes! 20 seconds on, 10 seconds off. Keep it on a 65 – 70% resistance.

12. Calvin Harris, Feel So Close (Benny Benassi Remix) (5:21):  Still obsessed with this song, and came across this remix which I thought I could use to switch it up.  Sprints with heavy resistance, recover light between – last song so make those sprint intervals important!  1:30 – 2:00, 2:14 – 2:45, and 3:45 – 4:46.

13. Gramatik, Epic Destiny (7:11):  I’m coming for you Thursday, Gramatik!  Cooldown.  

7 thoughts on “So Much Love

  1. Hi there – I starting following your blog “officially” earlier this week but you have been on my list of blogs that I go to regularly when I need ideas for music for my class for the last two months or so. I think most people likely hit a site a few times before they hit the follow button. I know I do.

    Rarely (never) do I comment on sites but I am somehow drawn to do it here.

    For me the music is the heart and soul of the spinning class and a lot of what you tend to find is either the same aul same and can be..well..uninspiring.

    I’ve been subsisting on previous playlists and the odd track from various mashup websites like bootiemashup.com to try and bring something new to my classes. Nothing out there was really up my street, until now….so I just wanted to say thank you so much for your blog and your playlists! They are deadly. Irish for “very good”

    You have introduced me to names of artists I can barely pronounce and having two wee babies limits the amount of time I get to browse for new music…now I just come here. I downloaded Gramatik last night and I am listening to it as I write this. He too is deadly.

    Keep posting…

    • David! This just put such a smile on my face. It is so lovely for me to hear positive feedback from another spin instructor that they find my blog useful for them! I totally agree with you that the music has to be inspiring. And how often are we bombarded with the same Rihanna and Foster the People songs on the radio, at work, at OTHER classes at the gym… definitely nice to switch it up, and hopefully people say “hey what was that song!” and you open their eyes to some new music. Bootiemashup! That’s a great site, I’ve gotten some great mashups from there. An Irish man calling my blog deadly, I love it. Goal accomplished. Thank you David!!! (I am so glad you like Gramatik – I’m goign to become his girlfriend tonight at his concert, just you wait)

  2. Pingback: See Ya, 2012 « spinmuse

Leave a Reply

