Snowboard Beats Volume 1

I was so happy to see the title of this post that Joel sent over this week! Not only is snowboarding one of my favorite past times, but remember when I met pro-snowboarder Kevin Pearce a few weeks ago? And he tried to ask me out and I was like, “nah.”  I giggled, per usual, reading his post – especially at the photo he sent over. He’s right, though, you gotsta have sick beats while ripping down the trails.  I must say, I am impressed Joel picked up riding so easily after the first day! What an athlete.  Spinning (and Bootcamp!) definitely helps get your legs in shape for the ski/snowboard season, and increases your endurance to work aerobically on the mountain (think: FLAT ROAD ON A SNOWBOARD. HELL. ON. EARTH.).  – ALB

So it’s fairly obvious that I’m straying away from the Bootcamp Beats theme of my blog posts as of late. I like to switch it up and change up themes every once in a while, because, just like a workout, it’s easy to get stale and bored. So for this week’s post, I’m going to take you through a playlist that I made for the past weekend.

Growing up in the Northeast, it’s fairly shocking to most people when I tell them that in 24 years, I had never tried to ski or snowboard. I’ve always gravitated towards warmer weather activities for some reason. I have been surfing and wakeboarding for almost ten years, but just never got into the winter sports. UNTIL THIS YEAR.

Now that I’m an adult and I make decent money, I can afford to buy my own equipment and try new, expensive hobbies. So I was finally convinced to take the leap and try snowboarding this season. Figures, that this year, out of all years, I decide I want to snowboard and we get NO SNOW. But I had to get out there at least once this year, I didn’t get all this nice gear to collect dust all “winter.” So I made the plunge and took a trip to snowboard for the first time ever on St. Patrick’s Day weekend.

AND IT WAS AMAZING. I had no idea what I was missing these past 24 years. It’s similar to the other board sports that I’ve been doing for years, but for some reason, rushing down a mountain is just so exhilarating. Granted, the first day, I spent most of my time in this position:

I feel ya, Joel. Luckily, I learned how to ride in 6th grade, and since I blacked out during my awkward babyphat/glasses/braces phase, I in turn, blocked out the painful memories of learning how to snowboard. - ALB

But I picked it up fairly quickly, and on Sunday, I was carving and riding like a pro. No lessons necessary! Other than a bruise on my tailbone and a couple of sprains, I came out pretty unscathed. It was a successful first trip, and even though surfing weather is just around the corner (85 degrees this Thursday?!?!), I can’t wait to go back again.

In anticipation of this trip, I made a playlist that would get me pumped up for snowboarding. These are some of the same songs that we listen to in the boat when we are wakeboarding, so I figured that it would have the same effect while I carve up the mountain. I want to share this playlist because these songs are really great to work out to as well. Without further adieu:

Warmup/Stretch

  1. White Panda – G.O.O.D.G.I.R.L.S. (Wale vs. Dillon Francis Mash-Up)(3:22): A lot of my EDM friends are totally into that Dillon Francis beat, and I thought it was just okay, until I heard this mash-up with Wale over the beat. Now? STRAIGHT FIRE. 
  2. The Jane Doze – B.S.ing on my Coffee Break (Big Sean vs. Zeds Dead Mash-Up)(3:05): Another casual mash-up, this time from female DJ duo Jane Doze, who have been putting some pretty awesome songs lately. This is my favorite one thus far. 
  3. Benny Benassi – Castaway (6:06): This is a song near and dear to my heart. We have been listening to this song for years on the boat before we went out wakeboarding. Just a classic song to strap your bindings up to.

Riding

  1. Bassnectar – Magical World (feat. Nelly Furtado)(5:09): I am absolutely crazy about this song. (ME TOO! -ALB)  The beat, combined with the vocal sampling of Nelly Furtado, is so hypnotizing and mellow. 
  2. Gap Band – You Dropped The Bomb On Me (5:09): How can you not shred to this song? 
  3. Wolfmother – Joker & The Thief (4:40): I don’t usually include a lot of rock or alternative in my playlists, but it’s not because I don’t like that style of music. I just don’t think it’s the best to work out to, or bootcamp to. But I love this song for board sports. Most Wolfmother songs are great to ride to. 
  4. Swollen Members – Pressure (3:23): I first heard this song in a wakeboarding video, and I immediately had to look it up and add it to my playlist. When you’re sitting in the water, about to ride, and you hear those first few notes, you know you’re going to have a good run.
  5. Ellie Goulding – Starry Eyed (Jakwob Remix)(4:09): This was THE Ellie Goulding remix, before everyone and their brother starting remixing her songs. VERY heavy on the dubstep and the womp, but can’t you just imagine carving up the side of a mountain to this song? 
  6. The Bloody Beetroots – Warp 1.9 (feat. Steve Aoki)(3:26): I like to keep my electronic music pretty heavy when I ride, and this song is no exception. I use this in my bootcamp classes from time to time, and the whoop whoop! part of the song gets everyone going. 
  7. Carly Rae Jepsen – Call Me Maybe (3:19): Oh my god. Have you guys heard this song?? It’s my obsession for 2012. Just so catchy and poppy. I cannot get sick of this song! This might not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I will be listening to this song well into the summer.
  8. Alexandra Burke – Elephant (3:40): I heard my roommate blasting this song one day when he was getting ready for work, and I nearly kicked down his door and demanded to know what song this was. I HAD TO HAVE IT. 
  9. Duck Sauce – aNYway (5:27): I dare you to listen to this song and not be in a good mood. Go ahead, try. It’s pretty hard. 

Quick tangent: So for my first snowboarding run, I didn’t go down the bunny hill. Or take any lessons. Oh no. I went down a proper mountain. And I fell. A LOT. So much so, that I felt I deserved a beer for actually surviving my first run. So after I successfully made it to the bottom, I got out of my bindings and marched my way over to the bar and had myself a green beer. And let me tell you, it was one of the most satisfying adult beverages I can remember having. That frosty, cold, refreshing reward was just the thing to keep me going for the rest of the day.

Bindings Off

  1. Pretty Lights – Fly Like An Eagle (3:43): I can’t think of a better way to end a day on the slopes than listening to this absolute JAM of a remix of Steve Miller Band’s Fly Like An Eagle. Or any Pretty Lights song for that matter. 
  2. 3LAU & Acetronik – Drive (3:36): This is a remix of the Incubus song of the same name, and in my opinion, it blows the original out of the water. Such a good jam. 
  3. WZRD – Teleport 2 Me, Jaime (3:59): So I heard Kid Cudi’s weird side project WZRD a week or two ago, and I still don’t know how I feel about his rock/electro songs. But this song is certified fresh. It samples a song from the movie Drive, which is one of my favorites from last year. A good note to end a great day of riding on. 

Thanks for reading everyone!

Make sure to check these tunes out, because they’re totally awesome. Since we are on the snowboarding topic – here is a photograph from a few seasons ago.  Just your old pal Amanda, in a friend’s mom’s ski-onesie, from circa 1970’s?  A few inches too short in length, made for some classic ski-onesie cameltoe. 

You are welcome.

Leave a Reply

