Walking On Memories ‘N Stuff

I made a Facebook page for spinmuse months ago, but never felt cool enough to publish it. Until last night. Can you like me? It will make me feel cool. Thanks! I’ll try to make it worth it, promise!

Like the rest of the world, I went running in the gorgeous weather after work last week. I was feeling great – I noticed that all my time on the bike has definitely helped my running.  While running, I passed by an elderly couple going on a romantic stroll on the sidewalk, and the mister essentially tipped his hat off to me while I was running by him. He was in a suit, was totally gray and wrinkled, had a cane, and literally stopped and gave me the thumbs up as I ran by him.

YES!” I thought! I am awesome! I am an excellent runner. I should just sign up for the next upcoming marathon in Boston!

Then, a little further on, I was approaching a gang.  Thugs.  Maybe six or seven of them in the pack.  As I ran by the gang of 6 – 8 year olds (baby thugs), they got ready to shoot at me. With their Nerf guns and squirt guns.  I had my headphones on blast per usual, but I could hear them yell “We RULE!” as I ran by them while they were aiming at me.  It felt a little like this: I promise on my girl scout cookies (not like there’s any left, but the girl scout cookie season is still strong) that I’m not making this up.

Luckily, I was close enough to my apartment, and I was too spooked to continue on my run.  That’s okay, I thought – I’ve been running for like an hour anyway, might as well call it quits.  Then, I look down at the dreaded timer on my iPhone. Thirty-three stupid minutes.  I was able to double this time on the treadmill later in the week, but only thanks to Modern Family at the gym at the hotel I stayed at last week.  You runners, I will never understand you.

It might be a while until I leave the comfort of my stationary bike again.  Thugs, I tell ya.

I am only going to soundcloud the new tunes I am posting, but I came across some great remixes thanks to one of my blog BFF’s, SpinAsana.  She linked me to a website that is just like thissongissick, called Fighting Musical Ignorance.  They had a 40-track playlist for working out, with links to the downloads. Here ya go – make sure to thank Lisa for the sweet link!

No Spotify or iTunes links for this one, mainly because most of the songs I’m excited to share with you today that are new are remixes and are not on those platforms. FYI: After typing out this playlist, I’m realizing I’m not very specific with timing… if you need more information, leave a comment and I’ll get so specific you’ll be sorry you asked.

1. Prince, I Would Die 4 U (2:57): Special request song from my stister who religiously comes to class everyweek. I have turned her into a spin machine! Oh, warmup. 

2. Rihanna, Where Have You Been (4:03): Sprints when the beat drops, keep the resistance light but gradually increase throughout the song.  Light to medium, just warming it up.

3. DJ Epic, Walking On Memories ‘N Stuff (4:59): A sweet mashup of Empire of the Sun’s “Walking On A Dream”, Kid Cudi’s “Memories”, and Deadmau5’s “Ghosts ‘N Stuff” for the backbeat.  Love it – ride to the beat, start out at 70% and gradually increase up to 85% throughout the five minutes.

4. The Naked and Famous, Young Blood (3:59): Get super heavy, and stay there.  Climb it in the saddle, getting up during the chorus when the song changes.  Another special request from Kate; she’s got good taste in spin music.

5. Rusko, Everyday (Boyfriend Remix) (3:26): I love this moobahton remix of Rusko’s Everyday.  Good for jumps, keep it at a medium resistance – about 70 – 75% to stay with the beat of the song. 

6. Flo Rida ft. Sia, Wild Ones (Aylen Remix) (5:17): I don’t think Flo Rida is cool, but I love Sia, and this remix is wicked good.  It’s also one of those made-for-spinning-instructors songs.  Sprint for 15 seconds on the :45, sprint for 30 on the 1:45, 2:30, 3:30, and 4:30.  Recover with light resistance in between, but turn it up to medium-heavy for the sprints. 

7. Them, Gloria (2:37): Used this one for active recovery, just keeping a 70% resistance to the beat – picking up our pace at :48 – 1:18 or so, and 2:02 until the end of the song.

8. Pretty Lights, More Important Than Michael Jordan (8:36): I have used this for an endurance hill a few times, and this time decided to use it for an endurance-jumps-on-a-hill song.  This. Was. Tiring. We did jumps on an 8 count when the beat kicks into the song, which is well after a minute into it, and then you get breaks here and there.  This is one of those times I’m being super vague about timing, but if you listen to the song, you can hear the breaks when the beat stops.  Keep it heavy throughout the song! 

9.  Lana Del Ray, Blue Jeans (RAC Remix) (3:38): I am adoring Lana Del Ray, and this remix is awesome to spin to.  We used this as active recovery from the treacherous Pretty Lights song before this, with quick cadence and a flat road. Again, thanks to Lisa for this!

10. Black Eyed Peas, Meet Me Halfway (4:44): Medium resistance (75%), and switch up the positions when the song changes for the choruses.  Hit all three positions.

11. The XX, Crystalized (3:23): Last chance to go super heavy during this song.  Add resistance every minute, switch positions when the song changes.

12. Swedish House Mafia vs. Knife Party, Antidote (Original Mix) (6:13): This song is house-y, moombahton-ey, mixed in with some electric bass lines, with two amazing beat drops.  One hits at 1:52 for 1 minute, the other at about 4:02 for 1 minute.  Use these two minutes for heavy intervals – last song, so go all out! Recover light in between and catch your breath.

13. Sigur Ros, Staralfur (6:46): Beautiful song, used in one of my favorite movies, The Life Aquatic. Breathe; it’s over! 

3 thoughts on “Walking On Memories ‘N Stuff

  1. I lost my comment…grrrrr!

    Take two…
    Great playlist profile! I wanna come take your class!
    P.S. If I get a backer to open a studio – you are so moving to LA to teach! 😉
    P.P.S. I can’t get enough of that Lana Del Rey Remix
    P.P.P.S. I put BEP Meet Me Halfway in my profile for the week too! Did a runthrough last night!
    P.P.P.P.S. I liked you on FB!

    • You mean if you get a backer to open our studio?! ;:) Yes, the lana del ray song was a hit – thanks times a million… AND thanks for the “like”!!! hey it’s like 80 degrees here today in boston, LA ain’t got nothin on us!

Leave a Reply

