Proper Bike Setup, via MS Paint

One of my favorite people in the world, Jess, or as we like to call her, “Jazzy”, recently went big-league and joined Equinox. Jealous? Me too. She’s been taking spin classes for years – in fact, she was the one who dragged me to my first spin class back in high school at Longfellow Sports Club. “Whyyyyyyyyy!” is what I was thinking during my first class. We all get over that hump eventually.

She was telling me about the RPM monitors on the bikes in the Equinox studio.  Naturally, without her prompting me what-so-ever, I told her everything I know (and love) about RPM ranges for spinning.  Your welcome, Jess.  You’ll be able to sleep a lot better now, I’m sure.

We were talking about proper bike setup via g-chat (not that I’m on it all day or anything), and I was trying to describe the proper fore and aft positioning.  I offered to draw a picture to better describe, and she agreed to look at my masterpiece.

Here’s what I came up with: (UPDATE: While re-reading the text in the picture, I have come across some awesome English. Quit judging me.)

Proper spin bike setup. I know! You are so welcome.

After putting on the finishing touches, such as the upper body of Satan and his pitchfork fingers, I decided since I love you all so much, it would be nice to share it with you all, too.  Like a little Friday treat.

Thanks, Jazzy, for letting me use you as a demo.  I think I did a great job of capturing your inner and outer beauty.  I’m taking requests, in case you would like a portrait.

12 thoughts on “Proper Bike Setup, via MS Paint

  1. You are hilarious! And as a Kindergarten teacher, I would definitely give you a gold star for your drawing. How do you hold the handlebars with the side of your wrists?

  2. Man, you’re the best teacher ever! When I was in the cert course, I remember my instructor telling me about hand position 1 – which was while seated, one hand is holding the other fist, therefore, the side of your hands where your pinky is, is on the handlebars. even in “hand position 2”, I try to do that to avoid clenching on the handlebars. Now that I think of the way I wrote “the side of my wrists”, I probably should have side the side of my hand. Does that make sense?

  3. The RPM computers are amazing! We have them where I teach as well. I constantly use numbers or number ranges when designing my profiles and refer to the cadence many times throughout a class (to find the RPM of a song, simply divide the BPM by 2 to get your cadence). Because I use the beat of the music as a way to determine cadence, you think that would make it easy for riders to understand what cadence they should be at, but you would be amazed how many people actually can’t hear the beat. So, these darn RPM computers make life so much easier. They also read your heart rate, the distance that you ride and your time. Also, they are a good tool for riders to judge if they have a smooth pedal stroke. I can’t imagine teaching without them…

    • Ahh! You are a lucky woman to be able to teach somewhere that has those. I am so incredibly jealous! Both studios I teach at got new bikes after the new year – I was so hoping they’d have RPMs. I feel like it would make SUCH a difference to be able to say “alright, climbing for 5 minutes, want to start at 80 RPMs, by the end after adding all your resistance, still want you somewhere up in the 70-80 RPM range…” etc. Hey I’ve always wondered – how many miles does one typically ride in a 45 or 60 minute spin class?! Happy St. Patty’s day, lady!

  4. Happy St. Patty’s day to you too! So, our classes are 45 minutes (though I teach solid for 45 and then begin the cool down). Typically, anywhere between 22 – 25 kms, depending on the type of ride. I will let you do the math! Yes, the computers are pure bliss. I do consider myself lucky to be teaching at such a fantastic studio.

  5. I teach both with computers and without computers. Totally different ride, with the computers…………. At least you have a number to confirm when you cheat ; )

  6. Pingback: 10 Things Every Beginner Should Know About Spinning

Leave a Reply

