Santa Baby & Sail

iTunes (Santa Baby)

Spotify (Santa Baby)

iTunes (Sail)

Spotify (Sail)

I hope everyone had a nice time with their families during the holidays!

Two things:

  1. To my friend on Spotify, Jimmy, who sent me songs by The Rapture: THANK YOU! I have been looking for more artists who remind me of LCD Soundsystem lately, and these guys are totally up that alley. I tried to send you a few songs back, but it kept telling me “error” for some reason. Keep them coming, and thank you!
  2. I’ve mentioned SoulCycle before, and I so badly want to work for them. Unfortunately, they are not in Boston (yet?!), but I do follow them closely on twitter and on their website.  I am on the e-mail list because of the one time I was in NYC and signed up for a class, but decided sleeping until 1:30 pm on Sunday afternoon was more important (Sorry SoulCycle. Please hire me someday).  Anyway, I got an e-mail that one of their instructors, Clare Walsh, who was only 22, passed away on Christmas.  For some reason, I’m pretty saddened by this.  I followed her on Twitter, and even though I never met her, still felt some sort of connection with her – maybe because of our age and the fact that we both teach (or probably because I was jealous she was an instructor at SoulCycle).  My thoughts are with Clare’s family and SoulCycle family.  I can tell just via Twitter and through the SoulCycle website what an inspiration she was to so many people – instructors and riders, and she leaves such a high-reputation legacy behind. It makes you think, who have you inspired lately? What kind of imprint on someone else’s life have you made? Hug your family and friends, and my deepest condolences for the loss of a legend.

I got to teach on Christmas morning! Some friends came which made me very happy (hint hint, friends, COME TO MY CLASSES, ya jerks!), and I did a crazy interval workout planned out to the second for each song.  [This playlist is mostly stuff from the radio, and if you want the detailed second by second for some of the songs where I didn’t get into it much below, just let me know and I can send that to you]

I also posted my Intro to Spin playlist (without a song clip… you’ve all heard these songs 1 million times in the past month), but the people who came have taken the class a few times, so I pushed them like a normal Spin class. I did a “best of 2011” songs for the intro class.  I will not be sad to see some of the hits from 2011 leave, even though we know they’ll be on the radio forever.

New year’s plans, anyone? I’m not into New Year’s either, on a normal basis, but this year me and about 20 of my friends from college rented a cabin at Hunter Mountain in New York.  I love ski weekend get-aways, and I never get to ski with this crew. I’m.. pee-my-pants excited for this.

Safe and Happy New Year to you all!

1. Frank Sinatra, Santa Claus Is Coming to Town (2:36): It being Christmas morning and all, I couldn’t NOT play some Christmas tunes. Frank Sinatra is the only acceptable artist though. Warmup.

2. Mariah Carey, All I Want for Christmas (4:01):  Well, duh, except for Mariah Carey.  You can’t NOT play this song on Christmas. 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off, light resistance with a quick pace. 

3. Two Door Cinema Club, What You Know (3:12):  Loving this song. I have to see what this group’s all about – hopefully they have more fun songs like this! 

4. Red Hot Chili Peppers, By The Way (3:42):  Moderate resistance.

5. The Black Keys, I’ll Be Your Man (2:21):  One minute on with heavy resistance, one minute off. I LOVE these guys. 

6. LCD Soundsystem, Home (7:53):  I love this song for a climb.  30 seconds rest, 1 minute on, repeat until the end and make it HARD! 

7. Paul Simon, You Can Call Me Al (4:41):  Still sticking with the one minute on, one minute off here. Last 40 seconds for extra rest.

8. Green Day, Brain Stew (3:13):  Great tune for heavy, all out sprints. 

9. Mayer Hawthorne, The Ills (2:50): Lighter resistance, picking up the pace. 

10. Outkast, B.O.B. (5:04):  This song is truly out of control.  It’s so fast for 5 entire minutes.  We did sprints for 40 seconds with moderate to heavy resistance, 20 seconds rest, repeat until the end. HARD! 

11. Miike Snow, Silvia (6:26):  Climb here. 20 seconds off, 20 seconds on, 20 seconds off, 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off, 1 minute on, 1 minute off, and then work back down the ladder (back to 30 seconds, then back to 20 seconds) 

12. The Submarines, 1940 (Amplive Remix) (3:15):  One minute on, one minute off.  This one is awesome for you bassheads out there.

13. Trans-Siberian Orchestra, Carol of the Bells (3:18):   I thought by now that we have been so consumed with the interval workout that we would have forgotten it was a holiday! I threw this one in there for one last, all out cadence increase and resistance increase. Last chance workout song! (Biggest Loser…aka me)

14. Alexkid & DJ Seep, Santa Baby (3:35):  I found this one on the mashup website called Bootie, which you should check out sometime.  They make mashup songs from 2005 or so up through the current year. You can download them all for free, and listen to them all on their website.  The link above is to the website for the Christmas mashup album they have done.  I didn’t really like either album other than a song or two, but I really liked this one for a cool down.

15. Frank Sinatra, Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas (2:36):  Thank you Frank, I did have myself a Merry Little Christmas.

Best of 2011 Playlist:

1. Pretty Lights, Up & Down I Go (7:54):  Well, this one I’m sure no one in my class had heard before, but for the intro classes I like to use a long warmup song (usually closer to 10-12 minutes) so that I can talk for a while and go over basics. 

2. Avicii, Levels (3:22):  My grandmother could probably recognize this one by now.  It’s everywhere! Adding some resistance, changing positions with every new minute.

3. Britney Spears, Til The World Ends (3:58):  Again, changing positions, adding resistance.

4. Adele, Rolling In The Deep (3:49):  Jumps on our own! Most overplayed song of 2011? Yup.

5. M83, Midnight City (4:04): Still digging this group, M83.  Climb here nice and heavy.

6. Lady Gaga, The Edge of Glory (5:21): Jumps again on our own. One minute on for jumps, one minute recovery, repeat.

7. Nicki Minaj, Super Bass (4:05): This could be another contender for most overplayed song of 2011. Moderate to heavy resistance and switched up positions.

8. Rihanna, We Found Love (3:22): Sprints! 75% resistance when the beat drops.

9. Foster The People, Pumped Up Kicks (3:59): Back to climb.

10. Florence and the Machine, Dog Days Are Over (4:13): I let everyone chose their own resistance here for sprints during the chorus.

11. David Guetta and Usher, Without You (3:28): Last chance climb.  Switched between saddle and position 3.

12. Ke$ha, Blow (3:40): Jumps during the chorus – I did 8 count but I should have done 4.  Eight felt too slow.

13. LMFAO, Party Rock Anthem (4:23): Heavy resistance when the beat drops!

14. AWOLNATION, Sail (4:27): Cooldown!

10 thoughts on “Santa Baby & Sail

  1. Amanda, I just love reading your posts because well, as much as I don’t want to go back and be in my twenties again, I am a little jealous of all the fun you seem to be having! Have a great time skiing. We always invite family over and celebrate my oldest son’s New Year’s Eve birthday. I’m going to be the mom of a teenager this year-yikes! I’m also wishing for some snow around here so I can bust out the snow shoes I got for Christmas!
    What a sad day for Soulcycle :(. In response to your questions: I like to think that my job(s) put me in a position to influence people (both big and little) every day. I sometimes feel like I am the only steady, sane person in the lives of some of my little kindergarteners. I also hope that I am helping my spin participants to reach their fitness goals and push their bodies beyond what they ever thought possible. I do know that for some, my classes give them an hour out of their day just for them and for them, that’s enough. Sometimes I want to tell them to get their asses moving and work a little harder though-geesh! Happy New Year to you! 🙂

    • Aww, thank you Chris! I am super excited for this weekend! Oooo, a NYE birthday? Better watch him like a hawk when he is in his late-teenager years… 😉 Snow shoes! So cool, I’ve always wanted to try those. I bet it’s a great workout, you’ll have to let me know!

      I loved your answer to the questions.. I totally know what you mean about being the only steady person – I bet they look forward to seeing you every day! I used to work at an afterschool program during high school and man, some of the family dynamics. So sad. You are most definitely helping your riders both physically and mentally – and you didn’t even mention about the fact that you influence so many people (like myself!) with your blog. Happy New Year, Chris!

  2. Yes!! Do check out Two Door Cinema Club, they’re awesome and British (Northern Irish) 😉 they also do some really good mixes!
    Owen

    • Man, you United Kingdom-er’s have some good tunes coming out of your countries. I’m going to Spotify them right now! Thanks Owen – Happy New Year, let me know how 2012 is since you’ll get it before I do.

      • Great tunes: I have used “what you know” and “something good can work” in spin classes already. I am in need of more songs for sprints though… Any ideas? Come over to my new blog too: sevspin.wordpress.com. I am doing some PR among all the spin fanatics who like to share and be inspired! 🙂
        Sev

      • Hey Sev! I saw your blog – AWESOME! I’m going to add you to my blogroll when I get home from work later… as for sprints, one of my recent favs is Bombs over Baghdad by Outkast. It’s 5 minutes of pure fast, so you can do intervals/sprints pretty much however you want and it will work with the song. Also, Antidote by Swedish House Mafia is pretty sweet for a few long sprints with recovery. I will tweet you a few more later (now that we are twitter friends! 🙂 ) when i’m home from work!
        Amanda

  3. Amanda, I have been reading your blog for a while now along and it’s always full of ideas and funny or insightful comments. It’s great to see another side of spinning instruction sometimes! And different songs too!
    As for Clare Walsh, it is so sad and upsetting particularly when things go against nature (i.e. losing a young active soul). I hope this reminds to us all how precious life is and how thankful we ought to be.
    Keep up the blogging!
    I wish you a happy new year!
    Sev

    • Hey Sev!!!! Thank you so much, I appreciate your kind words so much! I try to make my blog a little entertaining for ya’ll 🙂 I agree with what you said about Clare, and I still can’t figure out how she passed away. Details seem to be scarce. Very odd. Thanks again, and Happy new year to you too Sev!

Leave a Reply

