Paperback Writer & I Cut Like A Buffalo

iTunes

Spotify

I hope you guys had a nice Thanksgiving! I sure did. Still nibbling on leftover squash, cranberry sauce, and some delicious apple crisp thing my mom makes. The deep fried turkey was delicious, but I only had maybe a thumb’s worth (gross) of turkey. Veggies 4 lyfe.

I subbed for a class at Spynergy on Saturday afternoon, and it was a themed class.  After much deliberation, I decided to go with “British Invasion: Then and Now”.  I love all of those older rock bands from the 60’s (have you noticed most of them have a “The” in front of their name?), but there are so many great British artists out there TODAY, too that I wanted to include.  We did a pyramid climb up to 5 minutes for this one, so like the last playlist, not a lot of movements other than some sprints and just heavy hills and recovery. I also taught this morning, and will post that playlist underneath this one.  I’ve used all of the songs before (this is a new studio so I can repeat all of the songs I’ve used at the gym I teach at – and it’s an older, suburbia crowd, so I can’t use a lot of Pretty Lights-type “they-call-this-music” kind of music). I’m not going to link most of these songs because I’ve used them before, and I’m just straight up too lazy for that today. My internet already crashed once while in the middle of writing this post.

1. The Beatles, Day Tripper (2:49): Warming up!

2. The Kinks, You Really Got Me (2:13): Still warming up. I learned on Wikipedia that this song was deemed the “song that invented heavy metal” by some musicologist (not sure if that’s a word) which I found hilarious, since The Kinks are not a heavy metal band.

3. Leona Lewis and Avicii, Collide (4:00): Leona’s a Brit! Good song for some sprints when the beat drops.

4. The Rolling Stones, Paint it Black (3:26): Love this tune. It’s definitely got some parts for picking up the pace.

5. Ellie Goulding ft. Bassnectar, Lights (4:41): I mean, let’s get real. You all know this is my favorite song ever.

6. Florence and the Machine, Shake It Out (Benny Benassi Remix) (5:36): Awesome Florence remix, conducive for some sprints.

7. Coldplay, Speed of Sound (Simon Sh:Out Remix) (6:49): Good Coldplay remix, good for just getting lost in the 7 minute song.

8. The Beatles, Paperback Writer (2:19): Quick tune with a good beat!

9. Nero, Promises (4:17): This duo is from Britain! Good for rolling hills – thanks to Owen for this suggestion, straight from the UK.  God, I love the interweb.

10. The Kinks, Victoria (3:40): Awesome tune.  See what I mean about all of them having a “The” in front of their names?

11. Adele, Cold Shoulder (Basement Jaxx Remix) (2:53): Adele and Basement Jaxx are all from Britain! You can sprint for 15, 30 and 15 seconds during the chorus. My BFF Ira told me about this song a long, long time ago, before Rolling in the Deep was relevant. She knows her stuff.

12. The Who, Who Are You (4:55): Banger tune from this band.

13. Eric Clapton and Steve Winwood, Can’t Find My Way Home (5:33): I love the studio version of this song, but the website I download (TOTALLY LEGALLY!) off of didn’t have that version, so this is a live version.

Here is the playlist from this morning. Not going to link the songs because it’s Sunday and I’m lazy.

iTunes (Having issues. Third week in a row).

Spotify

1. The Dead Weather, I Cut Like A Buffalo (5:32): Awesome warm up song.

2. Crystal Castles, Not In Love ft. Robert Smith (3:47): Sprints during the chorus.

3. Jay-Z and Kanye West ft. Otis Redding, Otis (3:01): You can sprint during the Otis parts, up in position 2.

4. The M Machine, Promise Me A Rose Garden (5:32): This one’s awesome for rolling hills.

5. Ida Corr v. Britney Spears, Let Circus Think About It (DJ Dan Murphy Remix): This song pumps me up, and is great for sprints. One negative to the song is I used to know a guy with the same name as the DJ who mixed this song. Let’s just say it’s a big negative.

6. The Killers, All These Things That I’ve Done (3:51): Used this last week for the gym playlist, great for a climb.

7. Foo Fighters, Walk (4:16): Man, the more I listen to this song, the more I love it. It’s super heavy and awesome for heavy resistance and sprints.

8. MGMT vs. Daft Punk, One More Time to Pretend (Immunization Remix) (4:48): I used this for recovery, it’s an awesome mix.

9. Smashing Pumpkins, Tonight, Tonight (4:21): Good for heavy resistance with some sprints.

10. Adele, Cold Shoulder (Basement Jaxx Remix) (2:53): Yes… I used this above. Two different days, two different crowds.

11. Black Eyed Peas, Meet Me Halfway (4:44): Climb!

12. Florence and the Machine, Rabbit Heart (Raise It Up) (3:52): Moderate resistance with sprints during the chorus.

13. Foo Fighters, Everlong (Acoustic) (4:11): One of my favorite songs of all time. Ever.

I’ll have two more for you this week! Love ya’s!

3 thoughts on “Paperback Writer & I Cut Like A Buffalo

  1. Looks like you are publishing on iTunes sucessfully again! Yay! And hello-The Beatles!!! Favorite band of all time. I don’t use them much in my classes, but I am pretty much in love with all things Beatles! Love AWOLNATION as well. Nice playlists! 🙂

    • Hey Allison!! Thanks so much for the mediafire link – will download when I’m home from work! Thanks for checking out my blog, and thanks for your kind words! 🙂 Glad you enjoy it! Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

