1940 & Wild Night

Today, I have TWO playlists for you.  I’ll post them both in the same post, but treat them seperately.

I will be honest with you. I LOVE this first playlist (“1940”).  This was for the regular class I teach on Monday nights, and I threw some awesome new tunes in it for this week. You should listen to them all if you don’t recognize them. It’s not like you have anything better to do (I’m a self-centered blogger).

iTunes

Spotify

1. The Dead Weather, I Cut Like a Buffalo (Gramatik Remix) (5:32): I can’t get over my Gramatik obsession. I’m sorry. You’ll probably have to deal with it for a few more weeks. He’s just so… ugh. Sorry.

2. Hall & Oates, You Make My Dreams Come True (3:08): Still warming up here, different positions.  Did you guys see the Always Sunny in Philadelphia where Charlie insists that this band is 1 person named Holland Oats? (Okay also had no idea what Hall & Oates looked like until I saw this youtube video – what’s with the pedofile ‘stache? Creeeeepy)

3. Black Eyed Peas, I Gotta Feeling (4:49): BeP on the bill tonight.  You know you have collected one too many environmental samples when the Black Eyed Peas reminds you of Bis(2-ethylhexylphthalate). Jumps on your own, get the heart rate up!

4. The M Machine, Promise Me A Rose Garden (5:32): If you read “The Ills” post, you will see that I mentioned I saw these two producers open for MiM0SA, and they stole the show.  I think they are brand new, and this song has beautiful female vocals, and then hits dubstep with high energy, back to female vocals, mixing in the dubstep and high energy again.  I really loved this for rolling hills, picking up the resistance during the dubby parts.  I have also ingrained in my head for some reason that if you pair dubstep with a female vocalist, then it’s a sure-fire “win” song for everyone.

5. Gramatik, Walkin’ Down the Street (3:29): So here, you have some trumpets and bass, steady beat for a little heavy climb.  You get like 2 minutes in, and you’re like okay, this is kind of boring, what’s going on with this song? Then you hear a few samples of “Pretty Woman” mix into it and you’re like “oh, ok, this is the objective of the song, and it’s awesome.” I think we kept the resistance high for this one and out of the saddle.

6. The Postal Service, Such Great Heights (4:26): This songs got a steady beat the whole song, similar to the rest of The Postal Service songs that I’ve used before.  I liked it for some endurance work with a light resistance, keeping up with the beat of the song.

7. Deadmau5, Aural Psynapse (7:30): Deadmau5 played this NEW track during the concert I saw him at in October.  It is so pleasing to the ears.  I’m not going to tell you anymore than that, but you just have to take a listen, and I’m going to post a live version of it so you can see how intricately he sets up his lights to match his music.  We did a gradual climb increasing every 30 seconds, and then around the 3:30 mark we take the resistance back down, and climb it up again increasing every 30 seconds.

8. Railroad Earth, Long Way To Go (4:31): I used this for recovery, and I pretty much shut up for it so they could enjoy it.  Sorry if you don’t like bluegrass….

9. The Submarines, 1940 (AmpLive Remix) (3:17): This is another one I was psyched to use in class.  I heard it in the Teton Gravity Research ski movie called “One For the Road” that premiered in Boston last weekend.  It’s totally awesome.  We kept the resistance between a 7 and an 8, and stayed up in position 2 for the whole song. Check this one out, I promise you’ll love it.

10. Gramatik, To Get By (5:33): Please don’t hate me for using Gramatik 3 times in one playlist. You must listen to this one as well.  I guarantee you will recognize the song that he samples in, and it’s awesome.  It turns into dubstep, which I like to use for rolling hills.

11. Britney Spears, Radar (3:49): Jumps! Hey, girl.

12. Beastie Boys, Sabotage (3:00): We did some heavy sprints during the heavy parts of the song.  You can kind of pick and choose since the whole song is pretty heavy, but we fit about 6 different sprints in, anywhere from 10 to 20 seconds long with some rest in between.

13. Fleet Foxes, Helplessness Blues (5:03): Have you heard of this group?  They’re essentially the modern day Simon & Garfunkel. My brother Andy told me about them. Love their light, folky sound.

Now, for the second one.  This is for my Intro to Spin class, so it’s pretty generic and I’m not going to give a profile or music links since I’ve used all of these before, and I’m babbling about who know whats for most of the class to even really have a structured profile set up since it’s intro.

iTunes

Spotify

1. Michal Menert, In the Morning (5:03): So I lied, I haven’t used this one before, I’ll link it, but it’s a great warmup song for you to use.

2. Van Morrison, Wild Night (3:34)

3. OutKast, Hey Ya! (3:55)

4. Florence and the Machine, Dog Days Are Over (4:13)

5. Red Hot Chili Peppers, The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie (4:43)

6. Pretty Lights, All of the Lights Remix (6:05):

7. Tim Mason v. Florence and the Machine, The Moment Got the Love (Ken Loi Bootleg) (6:08)

8. Notorious BIG, Hypnotize (3:50)

9. Miike Snow, Silvia (6:26)

10. Mumford and Sons, Roll Away Your Stone (4:24)

11. The Submarines, 1940 (AmpLive Remix) (3:17)

12. Maroon 5, Moves Like Jagger (Remix ft. Mac Miller)

13. Lauryn Hill & Bob Marley, Turn Your Lights Down Low (4:02): Will link this one too since I haven’t used it before – great cooldown song by two great artists.

6 thoughts on “1940 & Wild Night

  1. OK, can’t believe I’m admitting this but until I just watched your Deadmau5 video I thought the name was pronounced “Dead mow (like wow) five”. And now I’m getting that it’s mouse. Is that right?

    Am I the only person out there who did not know this? So is it like Dead Mouse?

    • Jessica, I can assure you you are not the only one who thought that. I definitely did, my friends definitely still do, and I still hear people always saying “dead-mau-five” and I giggle. It’s completely cool though, I honestly think every single person who’s heard of him and read his name was like “oh, deadmaufive!” I guess the DJ got his name from some online gaming chat room (he’s a total nerd, like huge nerd), and there was actually a dead mouse in his computer and he became known as the guy with the dead mouse, and deadmouse was too long of a name for his user name in the chatroom so he became deadmau5. He’s also weirdly obsessed with his cats…

  2. Hey Bucci! I just wanted to let you know that I love your blog. Since I have taken up long distance running, I have spent far too many hours looking up music for my long runs and races. So, while I am not spin instructer, I still love and benefit from your suggestions!

    • Mal, you are the sweetest! You made my whole day, seriously. I’m glad you can find some use from my blog for your running adventures, I am so impressed you are running marathons. This musics definitely great for all sorts of work out routines, so again, I’m glad you like it! Spread the word 🙂 Hope to bump into you again soon! Happy thanksgiving, DL

  3. Haha! I thought the same thing as Jessica. I guess that makes it obvious that I graduated from high school the same year you were born Amanda! I embarrass my kids with stuff like that constantly! Glad there are young bloggers like you to keep me in the know. (My husband also says that people over 40 should not use emoticons!—> 🙂 What does he know?)

Leave a Reply

