Disco Decorating Fever

The title of this post is indicative of, embarrasingly enough, how I have just spent the past… 4 hours.  I don’t have a fever, but I’ve been on a bit of a disco kick, and on a mission to decorate this sort-of-lived-in-apartment in New York City that I now call “home.”

For months, since moving to this place, we have been couch-free.  Here’s the thing though – do YOU want to spend your first summer in the greatest city in the world on one of your days off at an IKEA with a bunch of slow walking morons buying a sofa that you then have to somehow bring home on a water ferry and then put together, all without the help of a burly dude? Or, do you want to take the subway to the beach, or meet your friends for a boozy brunch, or walk around without a purpose at the incredible farmer’s markets?  I know the former is tempting, but… fortunately for me, I’ve been a busy gal this summer, and the latter has been more tempting.

Remember when Liz Lemon and her hot boyfriend test their relationship by going to IKEA together? They broke up in that episode, obvs (I think). (source: examiner.com)

My friend that lives in my building is re-decorating his apartment, and he has been giving us tables, art, and some other cool stuff.. added bonus, he’s an adult, with great taste, who used to be an interior designer.  With that factor, plus the fact that my mother and sister are coming to visit in a week, I have felt that it’s about time to buckle down, hang some ish on the walls, and buy a damn couch.  I also spent 2 of those 4 hours we talked about above on the Benjamin Moore website looking up a color to paint one of my walls.  Did you even know that chalkboard paint existed?? Me either.. pictures to come, since that’s obviously what I’m going to paint my wall with.

I fell into a much needed Spotify hole tonight while surfing the interwebs for apartment stuff, and stumbled across some great stuff. Editor’s note: A Spotify hole is when you just start clicking, and clicking, and clicking, and then you end up on someone’s page who made a bangin’ playlist with a bunch of artists you’ve never heard of and you just keep spiraling down into a hole, where you have no idea how you got there, or no idea how to get out because the tunes are just TOO GOOD to turn them off. 

Those are usually my favorite types of holes to dig in. Usually.

I didn’t originally think I had enough material to make a solid post to share, but now I feel like I’ve got a ton of heaters and variety in there.

So, here are some disco-flavored tunes to check out:

1. Chromatics, In The City (7:30): Instrumental and long – but worth it for a trancey, dancey track to get lost in and dance to. There is actually a version with words, but I like the instrumental. 

2. Massive Attack, Unfinished Sympathy (5:08): I know, when you think Massive Attack, you think of “Teardrop”, their most popular song, but oh my god, check this out. Talk about versatile artists! #discoball

3. Beam Me Up – Jacques Renault Remix, Midnight Magic (6:04): I don’t know anything about these guys, but this was really fun to stumble upon.

4. Hot Chip, Let Me Be Him (7:41): Off the new Hot Chip album that came out a month or so ago, and I just love the soft, soothing vocals with the dance beat.  

Some other on-repeater’s lately:

1. The Lumineers, Stubborn Love (4:39): I’m sure by now you’ve all heard of The Lumineers for their “Hey Ho” tune, and this one is just as good.  Totally reminiscent of Mumford and Sons (which, by the way, have you heard their new single? GO RIGHT NOW) 

2. Florence and the Machine, Spectrum (Calvin Harris Remix) (3:38): I have heard this song at least 1 time a day at work from an instructor playing it in class, and I am still obsessed with it.  I’d go gay for Florence if she would just sing to me at every waking moment of my life.  

3. Kaskade ft. Mindy, Eyes (5:15): I may be late to the game on this one, but I have it on repeat and HAVE to listen to it a few times a day.  I can’t get enough.  

4. Kill Paris, I Wanna Be Your Lover (3:36): Thanks to Meggie for this one – just a straight up chilled out electronic song with a good, catchy beat. 

5. Blondes, Lover (6:42): Off the Blondes new album, which is just as amazing if not better than the first one. Trancey.  Missed their last DJ set in NYC a month or so ago… next time though, next time!  

7. Patrick Watson, Into Giants (4:29): Folky fresh tune. 

8. Mundian To Bach Ke, Panjabi MC (4:05): Bollywood beats that make you want to get down, big time. 

9. Body Language, Social Studies (3:32): Saw these guys at Brooklyn Bowl recently, and loved their set so much.  The female vocalist sounds a little like Lykke Li, so… it’s awesome. 

10. Tommy James and the Shondells, Crystal Blue Persuasion (4:01): Do you watch Breaking Bad? No? What’s your problem, you’re not into meth? Whatever. I am, and this song was just used in Season 5 during a cook montage.  It’s perfect.  Breaking Bad has really fabulous music in each episode, and during my Spotify hole, I subscribed to someone’s “Breaking Bad” playlist on Spotify, so follow me on Spotify, and when you go to my profile, you can listen to the BB playlist and fall into your own hole. 

11. Tiesto and Wolfgang Gartner, We Own the Night (4:30): There’s some sort of electric line in this song right at 1:32 that I don’t know how to describe, but it makes me feel like seriously getting down.  Spin your little face off to this one.

Next time you see me, I may have a couch! Maybe even a curtain rod?? The possibilities are endless, so stay tuned to spinmuse.com.

Leave a Reply

