A Major Award

This is a very special post today!  My two new Boston-based blog friends, Erica & Emily at Sleep, Eat, Gym, Repeat! have given me an “Inspirational Blogger” Award! I am touched.  I didn’t have a speech prepared (yes I did), but…

THANK YOU! That just made my entire life. No, really. That’s so cool. Out of all the bloggers out there, and you like me?! I’m really happy that my blog has been useful and helpful for when you’re looking for some new tunes to throw into your repetoir. I love learning about new music from you guys and sharing some of my favorites, so thank you for sharing in the groove with me over the past (almost!) year.

According to E2 (like what I did there?) at Sleep, Eat, Gym, Repeat!, when you win this “Major Award”, which looks like this (photo source):

"It's a lamp! It's indescribably beautiful! It reminds me of the 4th of July!"

You are supposed to share 7 things about yourself, and then award 7 other inspiring bloggers. Firstly, E2 has already won the award from another blogger, but I found their blog from WordPress’ “Freshly Pressed”, and have been following ever since.  I don’t know if you know, but it’s kiiiind of a big deal to get “Freshly Pressed” – it’s just about as big-a-deal as getting asked to the Prom by the hot quarterback when you’re a sophomore.  So congrats, ladies, but remember, those hot quarterbacks are only after one thing.  They are Boston based (check), gym-freaks (check, check), and they post inspiration and food recipes multiple times a week, if not every day (check, check, check).  Emily is a spin instructor who’s class I’m going to take tonight, Erica is a CrossFit-ter, and they are both on the Paleo diet, so therefore, you know these girls mean serious effing business about fitness and health.  Make sure to follow their blog, there’s a lot of awesome music, Paleo recipes, and bad-assery happening over there! Thanks again, ladies.  (Can I work at the gym you open together someday!?)

So, here are 7 things you may have not heard about me:

1. Deathly afraid of ants.  Also known as “Myrmecophobia.”  I roughed it camping in Alaska for 3 weeks, saw bears, moose (meese!?).  Lived in Australia for 3 months where I willingly dove out of a plane at 14,000 feet, scuba dived with sharks, lion fish, and a wobbegong (the most badass creature to ever live). Survived living where about 100% of the world’s top 10 deadliest creatures all live, and spent 2 weeks in New Zealand where I went to the only active marine volcano in the world (gas mask required), but none of those things phase me. Put a scary black ant (don’t even get me started on the pregnant ones) in my view, and I literally have physical changes and reduce my behavior to that of a 2 year olds.

2. I was a springboard diver in high school. I was recruited at Union College for diving, where I quit after approximately 1 week.

3. Bread-a-holic. I would chose bread and butter over a filet mignon or chicken dinner, all day e’rry day.

4. I go to concerts by myself. Yeah, I said it, loud and proud. Go ahead, judge me. If there’s a show that I can’t get anyone to come with me to, I don’t care, I still attend. Sometimes you meet cool people, like the 35 year old who had a pony-tail who was unemployed and was at the show with his mother. Other times you don’t talk to anyone, and you can roam around freely, and when the couple next to you is hard core making out and bumping into you, you can just leave that area without having to discuss with a group if you should leave that spot. It’s kind of liberating, actually.

5. I have been known to do splits at bars or late night pizza shops when prompted. The benefits of jeggings are endless, ladies. Also can still do a one-handed front handspring on command.

6. I eat what I want, when I want. I don’t really restrict myself to anything, unless I don’t like it or it looks gross.  I love food, I think about food possibly more than the average bear, but I do try to limit processed foods (i.e. JUNK!) these days.  Metabolism ain’t what it used to be in high school.  I think quitting the diving team and joining a sorority where Domino’s was on speed dial and you had constant invites to keg parties may have had something to do with it.  I love fruits of all kinds, vegetables, sweets, and grains, but am not a big meat eater. I went vegetarian for a few reasons for two years, but still only eat meat maybe 1-3x a week, and I never cook it for myself. I usually save it when I’m out to eat a restaurant I trust.

7. I don’t consider myself to watch a lot of TV, but I do love following HBO, Shotime, FX and AMC series.  I find that character development and storylines interest me far more than watching a 2 hour long movie.  Pee-your-pants excited for the return of Arrested Development.

And now, a heavy bassline drumroll for my top 7 inspirational bloggers…

1. Chrispins: A teacher, a mother and wife, and a spin instructor who posts playlists with teaching notes usually a few times a week.  Chris is a total sweetheart, and has been very inspirational to me in the thought process of creating my own blog.

2. whipmeintoshape: Ali is a hoot. She’s a college student who trains and races on her school’s crew team, and still finds time to wake up at 5:30am to teach a few spin classes a week.  When I was in college, waking up for an 11:30am class was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do.  This girl just kicks ass, she posts awesome music, and I’m pretty sure we have become best friends.

3. eat.sweat.balance: Elise is another Boston blogger and spin instructor who I already raved about what an amazing instructor she is here.  Her blog is filled with fitness class reviews, playlists (awesome ones at that, check check!), recipes (the Sunday Funday Cookies make me drool), and restaurant reviews.  It’s overall a great source of information on important topics (fitness and food, mmm), especially for those living in the Boston area who can check out the places she reviews. We got dinner together recently and talked “shop” about spinning, instructors and rateyourburn.com, and it was so fun to talk to someone who reads that website like I do, even for the NYC instructors.  Not obsessed at all or anything, nope!

4. Jason Lee: Jason is a South African with a heart of gold.  His blog is called “Inspiration”, so that sums it all up, but you know I can’t shutup so here’s the scoop: Jason trains for triathalons, running and cycling races, and is an Ironman hopeful.  He’s also living with an incurable disorder called  Charcot-Marie-Tooth (CMT), also called Hereditary Motor and Sensory Neuropathy (HMSN), which causes muscle weakness and wasting, and some loss of sensation in parts of the body.  In his “About Me” section, he sums it up perfectly: “My whole reason for doing this is to show everyone that no matter what you wish to achieve it’s possible. I am an athlete / triathlete – I run, cycle, swim, mountain bike, play golf, regular gym bunny and future Ironman. These are my dreams, challenges, victories and everything else in between.”  He is my hero, and should be an inspiration to us all.

5. SpinAsana: Lisa is another sweetheart that I have met through blogging.  She’s in LA, is an avid yogi, and a spin instructor.  She posts awesome playlists on her blog where I’ve stolen a lot of music and ideas from, and posts inspiration in the form of articles, photos, and ride profiles.  I think she’s a mother, but I refuse to believe she is any older than 20 years old judging by her pictures. I think I’m coming to LA in September, can we please hang out? #Bffs?

6. Linzertorte’s: One of my real-life bff’s has a blog with amazing recipes.  Lindsey over at Linzertorte’s (see what she did there?!) posts recipes of all sorts, from yummy sweets (taste tested and approved by yours truly), meaty dinners, and poached eggs.  Her stuff is sophisticated and easy to follow, and she even usually posts a song or two on her recipe posts so the reader can do some jamming and prepping at once, since we all know everything is better when music is involved. She is the fuel behind a LOT of new music I hear about, and we’re going to Sasquatch this summer, sooooo, that’s cool.  She’s also a CrossFit-er, and has been on the Paleo-diet for quite some time now. Bad. Ass. Kudos, Linzertorte’s.

7. Run Gainesville: Sometimes I try to pretend I’m a “runner”, so I read running blogs.  This is actually another friend of mine’s blog, Ben, who found appreciation for long-distance running during graduate school.  His blog was started for school purposes, and he kept it very entertaining, and had a variety of posts on different topics all related to running, and running in Gainsville, Florida, which I think is a cool niche.  He also loves jam bands, so we have a deep-found love and appreciation for one another.

Choosing just 7 Inspiration Blogs was tough, so other blogs I read and follow: Ali On The Run, Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life, and FitTalker.

LOVE YAS! :)

8 thoughts on “A Major Award

  1. Is it bad that I’m kind of relieved that I wasn’t nominated? :)
    I feel like my follow through is pretty bad lately so at least this way it only affects me.
    However, I am super excited to check out the blogs you did choose. Hooray for new reading material!

  2. Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you for the wonderful nomination. I will be sure to post my 7 things on the blog as soon as I can think of 7 things interesting enough-ha! You rock and so does your blog!

  3. thanks amanda – I’m honored and touched! you are awesome – I love ya! omg YES we are SO hanging out when you come in September! I can’t wait! I’m going to take you to Revolution to spin (and of course you can come to one of mine)! p.s. I am a mom and I am way outta my 20′s but love you even more for thinking otherwise ;)

Leave a Reply

